Homemade Mayo! Easy, Delicious, No Preservatives, & Cheap!


I made mayonnaise.

And it was easy.

And it was cheap.

And it is pretty damn good if I do say so myself!

I know what you’re thinking.  Mayo is so fattening.  Well yes.  It is basically oil with a bit of egg.  But it also goes splendidly with baked sweet potato fries.

Most store-bought mayos and are either full of preservatives and/or sugar or very expensive.

Screen Shot 2015-01-13 at 2.19.07 PM

canola and/or soy oil isn’t awesome

 

IMG_1456

 

And vegan “mayos” though very delicious, are made with vegetable oil and sweeteners (probably why they are very delicious)Vegenaise-safeway

 

I opt for whole foods.  And my homemade mayo is just that.  Excluding water I used 4 ingredients and for what looks to be just over a cup of mayonnaise it probably cost about $1 and saved on packaging.

I am so proud!  I made mayonnaise.

This is how you do it.  Ready?

Go get —

  • an egg (preferably room temperature)
  • 1Tbsp dijon mustard,
  • 1Tbsp apple cider vinegar or juice of 1/2 a lemon

whisk.  I suggest an emulsion blender but you could use a whisk or blender.

slowly add 3/4c – 1c of the oil of your choice to taste. (not soy or corn or canola unless it is organic).  I used grapeseed oil.

Boom.  Mayo.  Just like that.

 

You could get fancy with it and add garlic or herbs or more mustard or horseradish, go crazy.

This was my first go and I may have added too much water or apple cider vinegar, so mine didn’t turn out very thick, but I like it like that.

It seems more luscious.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Homemade Mayo! Easy, Delicious, No Preservatives, & Cheap!

Leave a Reply!

